In 1867, prosperous men like Jefferson’s co-founder Daniel Nelson Alley often
displayed their wealth by building lavish homes for themselves and their
children. Victoria Alley, daughter of Daniel Alley, benefitted from this tradition
with her father’s wedding gift of a magnificent two-story home known as
Featuring outstanding original architectural elements, The Magnolias is listed on the
Historic American Buildings Survey of Architecture and
in the National Register of Historic Places. It also bears a Texas Historic Survey Medallion.
Through its 142-year history, The Magnolias has sheltered local
community leaders and served as a civic gathering place. The oldest chartered
women's club in Texas was organized at this location in 1881.
Allan & Teresa Ponder currently own this beautiful historic home.
Among Jefferson’s oldest homes, a local legend, Sheriff W. S. Terry, was a previous owner.
This courageous lawman famously refused to allow a Ku Klux Klan march in 1922.
The W.S. Terry House was built circa 1850 by
Dr. Benjamin Terry, a physician and local business leader, and his wife, Mary.
The original three-room Greek Revival cottage was constructed of locally-milled
pegged heart pine and featured 14-foot ceilings. Various family members
continued to own the residence for the next 140 years.
A major renovation was recently completed by current residents, Raymond and
Jennifer Sanders. They choose to keep what is thought to be Jefferson’s first
clawfoot bathtub as a reminder of the enduring luxuries of living in an historic
An elegantly carved sunburst over the entrance, 14-foot high ceilings with
rich crown moldings, and original heart-of-pine floors greet visitors to the
Old Presbyterian Manse.
The home was once owned by internationally famous movie producer, Martin Jurow.
His films included the Pink Panther series, Terms of Endearment, and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. The Jurows lived in Jefferson during the 1970's and 80's. He and his wife, Erin-Jo Guinn, were familiar with the area because her family lived in Dallas and San Antonio for many years.
Built in 1839 and registered as the oldest home in Jefferson,
the residence ranks among the most notable Greek Revival architectural
examples in the area. The home was purchased in 1903 by Cumberland
Presbyterian Church and served as official residence—or manse—for ministers
and their families until the early 1950’s.
Captain Laura Omer NC, USN, (retired), has owned the home since 2007. Her dedication to and involvement in the Historic Jefferson Foundation has been instrumental in the success of the Candlelight Tour of Homes for many years.
Model trains race along nearly 200 feet of HO scale railroad track, whistling as
they pass through tiny scenes of 1950’s west Texas including a July 4th parade,
fireworks stand, pool hall, pawnshop, library, dentist office, and much more!
The R. D. Moses T & P Model Railroad exhibit measures 14 feet x 40 feet, required
more than 30 years to build, and ranks among the largest and most-detailed
model railroad displays in America.
Housed in a specially-constructed replica of an early 1900’s T & P Railroad Depot,
this fascinating glimpse of history captures the imagination of all ages.
The Jefferson & Cypress Bayou Model Railroad Club
operates and maintains the exhibit for the Jefferson Historical Museum.